The widespread adoption of digital personal assistants (like Alexa or Siri) is changing how people interact with technology. Do the advantages of reliance on these assistants outweigh the disadvantages?

First of all, it is a fact that the AI presence is having a huge impact in our daily lifes since different tools, such as ChatGPT were first introduced not only in one country, but in the entire world. While there is this group of people that trully believes that these personal assistants will improve our quality of living, I consider myself being part of the second group, who is really aware about the main consequences of this matter.

Since the incorporation to AI Assistants in our routines, the first group of people feel more confident by knowing that they have already a source that can make them easier their workflow in their jobs, in the case of adults. Then, all the teenagers that are already studying a career in college can make their projects by using this tools, which provides them infinite sources and schemes. Even kids nowadays are just learning how to use this tools in their homes. From that perspective, it seems that we have a system that is going to help us most part of our lifes. But what is going to happen with the human development?

On the other side of the coin, the other portion of society is conscious about the disadvantages of this kind of technology. For instance, if an AI machine can develop all the activities that a real person can manage within it´s workspace, there is the risk that he /she can be replaced by this tool in a non distant future. Then, when we talk about pictures and photographs, now it is to easy to delete or change an element inside a frame, and someone can take advantage of that by saying that it is an original creation. Then, if social media has a huge role in our reality, what can expect for those who find difficult to establish a social contact or a face to face encounter? These people now are actually speaking with AI as if was a real human being.

I would like to conclude by saying that AI could be good in certain cases, but not for controlling every aspect of our lifes. We need to ensure the proper use of this tools by only certain amoun time, like one hour for example. But that´s it, we can´t forget that it is more important to develop our own skills and friendships by ourselfs, instead of using a machine or a virtual tool at all