The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer holiday. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe the number of working days in a week must be less in comparison with the days for weekend. In my opinion, I wouldn’t agree with the ideology of having shorter working days and a longer weekend. I would prefer a fair balance between the both.

One on hand, the idea of having a longer weekend sounds like music to the ears. One can dedicate good quality time with family, friends and following side hustles, if any. We can incorporate many hobbies and experience more travel time in terms of leisure. For example, according to Well Being Association of India, they carried out research in the top MNCs for job satisfaction ration between employees during weeks having more than two days of weekend, and recorded a fostering growth in employees productivity by 57%.

Conversely, having a longer weekend will be challenging for companies to reach their expected goal because of the reduction in time consumption by the employees. However, a balance between both the factors can help the employers as well as the working professionals. Furthermore, by adapting a four working day practice, will motivate the employees by significantly providing fruitful time and companies don’t have to burdened by the working hours recorded. For example, Deloitte provides each employee with extra five days of holidays every month for promoting the importance of self-care and well-being.

In conclusion, longer working days can restrict workers from coping with stress and giving importance to self-care. While companies can break the chain of corporate salves by either providing extra holidays in the name of health or by following a four working day rule which in return improves employee productivity and job satisfaction.