The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer holiday. Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The question of whether working days should be shorter and workers should get more rest has long been debated. There is a view that it is vital to let workers’ hair down and recharge their battery for a longer period of time. I believe this view is misguided.

Considering this phenomena’s effect on businesses, there are many disadvantages of this. Firstly, if workers possess more rest days, it will affect the quality of service or products that the employer presents. In this process, employer tries to complete the work plan which leads to hectic working environment and more workload. As a result, employees do their job with great pressure and they only work for completing the work plan, not caring about the quality.

As for workers, moreover, many drawbacks can be observed in this process. To start with, having more days to rest will result in becoming reluctant to go to work for jobholders. It leads them to think about their holidays and planning it most of the time at work which disturbs and prevents them from focusing on their responsibility. As a result, they become lazy and devil-may-care laborers that may lead them to get fired and become jobless. Additionally, although having longer holidays provide them with sufficient time for themselves and their personal life, their efficiency in the process of working will decline as they try to cope with workload and workplan. It leads to some issues in their mental health as coping with work pressure gives them tons of hectic process in their mind that leads them to be nervous most of the time. Later in life, some health problems can be experienced like migraine, backache and problems with vision.

To sum up, although having more holidays sounds great, it has many affects on both workers and businesses.