The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. DO you agree or disagree?

The debate over whether weekends should be longer is multifaceted. Some people suggest that it is a constructive development, while others argue this may incur harm. From my perspective, whereas shorter weekdays can be beneficial in certain cases, it is generally unwarranted due to its negative influence on the economy.

Admittedly, a longer weekend can be advantageous to a certain extent. As people have shorter working time, they would gain more chances for relaxations, which may effectively reduce the workload and benefits their physical fitness. Employees’ mental health may also be improved since there is less working pressure, which would substantially reduce their psychological stress. As a result, the overall happiness level in a society can be promoted and citizens may feel more satisfied with the government, bringing positive influence on social cohesion.

Nevertheless, this may have led to adverse impacts on vital facets. Initially, the labor force would receive significantly less income as most of the occupations are paid hourly, which can negatively affect individuals’ material lives. Likewise, the profitability of companies would decrease since there is less total production. Consequently, a vicious circle might occur as diminishing profit in firms would cause a corresponding decline in employees’ salaries, which may worsen the overall living conditions in society. The national GDP may then witness a downward trend as the overall consumption will fall significantly. Additionally, the tax revenue collected from individuals and corporations would fall, and thus less government budget on infrastructure and education, hindering the potential economic growth.

In summary, although extending weekends may improve the happiness level, it is inappropriate considering the economic development and general living quality would be significantly shattered.