The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Your essay should comprise a minimum of 250 words.

In many developed countries, employees are demanding a longer weekend in compare to what world have currently with two days as a weekend. However, I want to completely disagree with this idea, as this can affect skills of the workers significantly, which leads to slow down the economy of the world. This essay will discuss the different reasons of not to increase the days of the rest period for the employees.

Firstly, there are industries and enterprises where 24 X 7 hours work is needed, and for that, more rightly skillful empoyees needs to be available at any given point of time. For instance, banking sector has to higher IT engineers, in order to functions their software infrastructure in every second. Any faults occurs during the long weekend impacts major loss in revenue for these companies if no appropriate staff is present.

Secondly, by reducing working hours during the week make converse effect on the workers’ working capabilities. Employee often become lazy, and they tend to forget their valuable skills which leads to domino effect on their children as they also are not able to develop their right abilities in other activities such as education and sport. For example, with more days in weekend, workers plan vacations and trip more regularaly with their youngters which leads to negative development in their childhood.

In addition, two days in weekend are sufficient for anyone to get refresh, and also instead of increasing the days in weekend, employee can plan longer vacation trip during the year. Some countries such as Germeny has a rule to give at least one month vacation period to every worker.

To sum up, with longer weekend, industries and nations will loose their economy so the current working system with 2 days as weekend is nicely implemented.