The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Your essay should comprise a minimum of 250 words.

In this modern and competitive world, people often suffer from stress and excessive workload. To address this, Many people argue for longer weekends and shorter weekdays. While this will improve the work-life balance of people and improve their health.However ,It could also result in huge financial loss for the company.

The current working scenario for employee’s include working long hours with tight deadlines and excessive workload, otherwise getting replace by someone from the job market. This trend often result in people spending more time in the office rather than spending it with their families.Eventually, resulting in low work-life balance. Additionally, working under hectic schedule for long hours could lead to mental stress and severe health problems. For instance, a study by oxford union states that 70% of Employees working more than 80 hours a week suffer from chronic health problems such as fatigue, dementia, and insomnia.

Additionally, longer weekends and shorter weekdays would eventually result in lower profits, affecting the company’s financials. As more and more people work fewer hours, the output and productivity of the team would greatly depreciate, leading to miss deadlines and huge cost overruns. For example, when Saudi Arabia introduced 4-day workweek, the companies who adapted this saw a 10% decline in their profits combined with less income.

To summarize, I partially agree with the statement because, Although shorter weekdays lead to a balanced work-life and decrease in health problems, it also affect the balance sheet of the companies with huge losses and reduced income.