The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Your essay should comprise a minimum of 250 words.

Some people argue that there is a need to extend weekends and reduce working days of the week. I completely disagree with the idea and I think, in a long run, it may yield devastating mental and physical effects on people.

Proponents of this statement think that because of various factors, such as faster pace of technological progression, pressures of business owners, and current financial crisis of some workers, there is a significant stress in the routine of individuals. These reasons are enough to cause detrimental impacts on people’s health. For example, there is an increasing number of back pain and eye sore because workers tend to sit long hours in front of their computers at work. Sometimes, it leads to mental and psychological problems, making it impossible for people to procceed working. Apparently, one obvious remedy to all mentioned problmes is decreasing the number of work days.

However, I believe that extending weekends is not as efficient as it is thought, and by doing some calculations we can find out more about the issue. Currently, most individuals work for 8 hours. If we multiply that by 5, which is the total number of work days, it will be clear that people work for roughly 40 hours a week. The whole week is comprised of 169 hours; thus, it is clear that 40 is just a little fraction of 169. Furthermore, because of inflation in some countries, people need to grapple with their jobs more, and I think that they will not accept the suggestion of shorter working week.

In conclusion, while some might state that people need more rest and less work, I think this phenomenon is neither the primary solution to individuals’ pressures nor their productivity. Governments and authorities should seek other solutions and aspects to enhance people’s lives.