The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

I personally disagree with the issue whether the working days should be one day less. By no means should we make the weekend three days long. There are two aspects that support my point of view.

First of all, now all over the world are facing an unprecedented economic recession caused by COVID-19. Many factories are forced to close and the shops shut down. The economic loss is substantial. Nevertheless, with the advent of vaccine,! perceive that now people can go back to their work. This would certainly be conducive to our economy. If we reduce one day from work, even just from a week, it would cause repercussions on our society in terms of the development of economy

Secondly, 1am used to do my leisure activities in Saturday and Sunday. If there is one day more, I would wonder what to do on that day, and that means have to rearrange my weekend plans. I think it would be tiring. Most importantly, I come to admit that, too some degree, 1 am workaholic. I cannot even image if 1am separated from my favourite place – my office. It is the place where I retreat to when I feel anxious and want to get rid of everything. Working, indeed, gives me a sense of achievement and contentment. I, therefore, would oppose to the idea of cutting one working day.

Though some people may argue that they need one day more in the week to reduce their stress from work, it could be harmful to our economic growth in this harsh time. Also, I believe that many people are used to the current working system, which provides two days for break. The sudden change will make people confused. Unless the government enacts a comprehensive policy for this new system, I think the idea does not work, and it would surely brings chaos in our society.