The world grows more connected through social networks. Therefore, many people think that school students should be allowed to use mobile phones in class. Do you agree with the above point of view?

As the world grows with technology, teenagers nowadays are living in a world full of smart things, such as smartphones, tablets, etc. Some schools are starting to apply technology into lessons to make class more exciting and energetic. Therefore, teachers are giving students the accessibility to bring phones into class. But in my opinion, there might be some drawbacks to using phones in class.

First of all, what are the benefits of using phones in class? Well, students can interact with teachers via games that make the class more interactive and more excited, therefore bringing the mood of happiness in class and wanting to start to learn new lessons. Additionally, it could be a handy tool too, such as research during group work or searching up vocabulary if they don’t know the meaning of that word. Surprisingly, it can also be an entertaining tool as well. For example, Youtube can be useful when watching videos or Spotify when listening to music during break time.

However, using phones in class can make students want to use more, making them less focused in class. Also, it can be a tool to cheat during exams, leading to passive learning, learning by rote, and more. Finally, using phones in class can also be used to post photos in social media, and therefore living in a virtual life more than in a school life.

In conclusion, there might be some good reasons for using phones in class; it is best to use them when there is a teacher’s permission.