The world is consuming natural resources faster than they can be renewed. Therefore, it is important that products are made to last. Governments should discourage people from constantly buying more up to date or fashionable products. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

In this fast paced society, fast fashion products have become more prevalent than numerous years ago due to globalization and other factors. However, the production of these products has brought about the vast consumption of natural resources in the world. In my opinion, the idea that the government should discourage people from purchasing these products is flawed, and the reasons will be covered in this essay.

To begin with, although fashionable goods consume large amounts of natural resources, it is incontrovertible to say that these products are more economical than other products which are considered more delicate by the majority of people. For instance, many individuals might not be able to afford slow fashion products since these products are expensive in general due to the high manufacturing cost such as labor, equipment and raw materials.

Furthermore, it is no exaggeration to say that the demand is increasing since the population is increasing as well. Therefore, companies have to produce more goods in order to meet the needs of the population. Furthermore, the gap between the poors and the riches have become wider since the 21st century, and the gap is predicted to widen increasingly in the future. Hence, it is incontrovertible to say that manufacturing companies ought to increase the supply of fashionable mass-produce products in order to meet the demand.

To conclude, I am opposed to the idea of discouraging up to date products due to the aforementioned reasons. Nonetheless, I am not vehemently opposed to the idea that the government should also encourage slow fashion owing to the fact that the environment needs immediate attention from the humankind to counteract the depletion of natural resources and climate change.