There are many female students who finish degrees in science and technology courses at university, but few move into the workplace after they graduate. Why is this? What measures can be taken to encourage them into work?

It is vitally important that the youth, especially females should be more encouraged to become working professionals in all areas of productivity. However, only few of the many female students who complete their degrees in science and technology courses at university move into the workplace after they graduate. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons of the pattern and the effective measures to encourage the women into work.

To begin, the main causes of a female graduate not joining a workplace can be due to family and societal pressures. Family pressures can include the forcing of marriage at a young age before even being independent, fear of sending the female child to unknown places, etc. For instance, even in recent analytics, it can be seen that the crime against females is in vast numbers, which would probably instil a huge fear among the parents in sending their daughters for work. Societal pressures can include the stereotypical ideologies, that the society may have, like females are born to do just household chores and look after their husbands. Neighbourhood with such mindset could influence the parents of female children in a negative manner.

However, there can be various measures that can be taken by both the government and parents, to ensure that the females join the work and hence, improve the overall productivity of the nation and also become financially independent. One of the methods is to provide awareness. The government should ensure through awareness to the parents that is highly essential that their daughters should work and earn a living of themselves instead of being tied up to only do household chores. Also, the government should be able to ensure that all workplaces are safe for women and any crime on women face strict legal consequences. Moreover, parents should be more understanding and encouraging with their daughters work in professional workplaces of their choice.

In summary, there are various reasons like societal or family pressures, that still exist that pullback females from entering professional work fields. But there are also different actions that can be taken to ensure that this problem doesn’t occur.