There have been many inventions in human history ( for example, the wheel) some people think the most important invention is the internet. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There has been an argument that the internet is the most important invention of humanity. To some extent this seems to be true, the internet is definitely very important but is it really the most important? In this essay I will discuss whether or not the internet is humanity’s most crucial invention.

Firstly, there are countless life changing inventions during the course of our civilization. For example electricity, the steam engine, etc…, all of which are life changing during their time. Furthermore without these, the birth of the internet would never have happened since without electricity, how could the internet exist or without steam engines, the world would be too inefficient to produce electricity.

But on the other hand, these inventions really only affect people’s lives on a small scale when compared to the internet. For example, the steam engine realistically speaking only connects people on a continental scale and electricity only improves production and people’s quality of life. But for the internet it connects people everywhere around the world and makes way for the digitalization of information, which greatly increases the accessibility of pretty much everything from products to services etc.. , which makes the world run on an efficient scale never seen before. So it is really hard to tell whether or not the internet is the most important invention or not.

So all in all, I think that we can not really say that any innovation is the most important of humanity since each development leads to another’s and without the older ones, the internet will never be a thing.