There is a problem today that copyright materials such as music, films and books are freely available on the internet with the result that the owners of the works lose money. Do you feel that this is a good or bad thing?

Technology developed in recent years has created a significant impact on the way books and music are shared. The internet enables completely free access to both. I agree with the fact that it is nothing but a negative practice prevailing in the world. In the next few paragraphs, I will describe my perspective on the topic.

Firstly, it has to be pointed out that downloading books and music without paying is morally wrong – it is, after all, a form of stealing, just as much as if someone had shoplifted a CD. Secondly, it can be claimed that if nobody buys music albums or books, then people who produce them, such as novelists, journalists or musicians, will lose their livelihoods.

Eventually, new projects may not be undertaken, and the whole industry will cease to function. The fear of getting the work stolen is still deeply imbibed into the minds of creative artists. If it continues, the only way to make money from writing and music will be through things like celebrity endorsements.

Although some people believe in the advantages of having access to free data, there are more downsides to this practice from an artist’s perspective.

In conclusion, I believe that the public must be educated regarding the copyright and the amount of efforts and hardwork it takes to develop something that doesn’t exist in the world. The major problem is that the owners of the artworks lose money. So, there doesn’t seem to be anything positive about this scenario.