There is an increasing trend around the world towards having a small family rather than a large family. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, a small size family becomes more preferable in society. In this essay, I will explain that the benefits of having a small family member overshadow the potential drawbacks.

On the one hand, small size families should be aware of potential challenges. To begin with, the chance of being neglected is higher. For example, when one of the family members gets sick, there will be a smaller amount of care or emotional support that can be received from other family members, leading to feeling isolated and lonely. Furthermore, finding an interesting topic to discuss in family conversation tends to be challenging because the probability of new things happening to the children or parents is most unlikely. As a result, the conversations with family members become boring.

On the other hand, having a compact-sized family is a great decision for a few underlying reasons. Firstly, creating an emotional bond is easier because if there are only one or two children in the family, observing their children will be more convenient for parents. As a result, they are able to make sure that their children get the right amount of attention for their growth. For example, parents can help their children to do their homework or play with them. Secondly, family discussions can be more efficient in a small size family because there are fewer opinions and requests. The family can be more harmonious because conflicts are less likely to arise. This is because every person has their own perspectives, so the fewer the members, the less likely it is there are conflicting opinions. Lastly, due to lower living costs, they can easily fulfill their daily needs, such as food, transport, and education.

In conclusion, while having a fewer member in a family can lead to a lack of social support and excitement in a conversation, there will be less effort to have an intimate connection between parents and their children and build a harmonious family. Therefore, on balance, I remain firmly convinced that the merits eclipse the demerits.