There is increased use of technology in workplace. Some people find that it is good for young people prospects of gaining job harder for old people.

It is often argued that, the wide usage of technology in the workplace is causing both benefits and drawbacks to employees. The downsides of using technology in office can include high costs of upgrading and maintenance and addiction to electronic gadgets. However, these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits such as less hassle and more productivity and more collaboration between workers.

One disadvantage of wide usage of technology in the workplace is constant upgrades and maintenance costs. Technology is constantly being improved, which requires constant and costly upgrading. Each upgrade requires employee training, taking time away from production. The loss of productivity combined with costs of software and implementation can reduce overall profitability. Each upgrade may also lower morale as employees struggle to learn new applications and to meet new performance standards. Addiction to electronic gadgets can be another drawback for employees. The need to constantly look at ones phone, to continuously check emails and respond to every beep or ring has lead to addiction to gadgets. For instance, people with gadget addiction have higher levels of GABA (gamma amino butyric acid) – a chemical that slows down signals in the brain. This chemical is linked to vision, motor control, and various other brain functions. For instance, a number of individuals who are addicted to electronic devices may have been distracted from their daily tasks and looking at the items on their hand can cause the problems related to health.

On the other hand, the advantages of utilizing technology in a working space are far greater. One of the major benefits of this is lack of hassle and more productivity. Technology in the workplace should simplify tasks and streamline processes. This frees up time for employees to focus on their work. For example, let’s say that an employee plans to come into the workplace on a Wednesday. They might prepare for their day in the office by booking a desk using your company’s hot desk booking software. The technology also lets them see who else on their team will be in the office so they can book a nearby desk for easy, in-person collaboration. Additionally, technology is a main reason to create more collaboration between coworkers. Think of all the in-person interactions that happen in the workplace: chats by the water cooler, impromptu huddles in the hallway, and quick back-and-forths at the desk. In a hybrid work model, these interactions aren’t always possible. Luckily, thanks to new technology in the workplace can help. Here are some examples of workplace technology that facilitates collaboration.

In conclusion, technology usage in the workplace may entail several challenges for employees such as high costs of upgrading and maintenance and addiction to electronic devices. However, these drawbacks are outweighed by the benefits like collaboration between coworkers and shortage of hassle and more productivity.