There is no doubt about that globalisation has benefited the world by bringing together people, business and nations. People who criticise it stand in the way of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that globalisation united people, businesses and countries around the world and benefited the world. However, there are critics who believe otherwise. Although I agree that globalisation brought positive effects to the world such as development of economies, I think it also has negative impacts of decreased cultural diversity by diminishing small cultures.

On one hand, globalisation stimulates the growth of economies in many countries. This is because gloablisation promotes mostly standardized business procedures and easier trade regulations between countries. Therefore, businesses can trade goods without having to overcome different and time consuming procedures while operating in different countries. For example, the globalized accounting standards make the comparison of performance of businesses in different countries easier. Hence, businesses are able to assess themselves more accurately on a global scale and make meaningful changes that improve both the business and the country’s economy.

Nevertheless, globalisation also diminishes small cultures since create an environment where cultures of more developed countries overtake small cultures of countries that are less developed. This is because in globalisation, developed countries act as benchmark for standards and therefore, their cultures are also seen as standards. Consequently, small cultures of people in developing countries try to imitate the characters of popular cultures and put less importance into protecting their cultures, hence diminishing of their small cultures.

In conclusion, I believe globalisation provides the world with unity in nations, people and businesses by standardizing procedures and stimulating the economy yet the same unity create diminishing of different small cultures and as a consequence, there are now less cultural diversity in the world.