There seems to be an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as a deterrent, many people believe that other measures will be needed. Discuss both sides.

There is an argument between two groups of people: one group thinks the best way to deter an increasing number of serious crimes committed each year is the death penalty, while the second group thinks other measures will be needed. Although the first group is opinion that death punishment is more effective as this decision will decrease number of crimes, I side with those who think that culprits need to be punished with other measures, because death punishment is not moral way to deter felony.

Some hold the view that the death penalty is an effective way to decrease the number of crimes, because people will think twice before doing some bad things. The reasons why they will think like that: nobody wants to die and they have their families, close ones, so they will aware of cruel consequences. For instance, in some countries such as China, people strongly obey the regulations, since they are aware consequences that may lead to in prison, death or other cruel punishments depending on the level of crime. However, this decision has a negative impact, such as impossible to review the punishment and acquit the person if someone hadn’t done anything wrong. That is why I am not accepting this viewpoint as people’s lives are not renewable.

In the meantime, other are thinking that people who did the crime need to pay with other punishment as death penalty is not a humane way to punish crooks. The reason why it is not good idea is that felons are people and people’s lives are unique. Moreover, if person who was punished wrongly, it will be impossible to let someone free. For example, this situation had already happened, when somebody was wrongly punished and had the death penalty, but after some years a real person was found who had done the crime. Unfortunately, in this situation law was not able to free a wrongly punished person as this person had the death punishment.

In conclusion, both sides have own benefits, but I share the opinion with the second group and consider that a life-ending punishment is an unsuitable decision to punish the crooks.