These days, in many countries, fewer and fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary school

It is a common problem as fewer people these days want to become teachers in mainly schools and universities. Back in the day this job was popular and well respected but now things have changed. In this essay I will state the causes of the problems and the solutions to rectify the problems.

Let’s begin with a problem is that teachers these days are not paid well to do the job, nowadays their salary is lower than other careers like law or medicine. This is also a reason why people tend to run away from being a teacher, the solution to this is that the government should be conscious about all jobs and their rights by treating and paying them respectfully and that will attract more young and enthusiastic adults. An example of that is in Sri Lanka there is an economic crisis going on right now, as a result the Sri Lankan teachers are not earning well to make a living instead, they must do extra duties at their school/institute. When those teachers are working overseas, they are well underpaid because of their country’s state.

Another problem is that children do not behave well in their class which can also cause annoyance and disturbance which is also a reason why most people quit their jobs as teachers or don’t become teachers at all just to be free of uncontrollable behavior of children. To tackle this issue, parents must give their children a sense of respect for teachers, to make children behave better in class.

The third cause is that teachers in modern times have a mountain load full of work to do. Most teachers are buried under with marking and paperwork which means they must stay at school for longer periods of time and work at home more than usual, which can affect their mental life resulting in less time spent with their family. The way forward could be for the school to cut off some of the teacher’s hours and hiring more staff to cover the current teacher’s hours when they are not available. The schools should also provide the teachers with gadgets to assist them in teaching and paperwork to make their life easier.

To sum up, its true that teaching is not a popular job these days because of reasons such as the salary, pupils’ behavior and intense workloads. This is a serious problem and if this continues the education of our children will suffer. My view is that the government and the parents need to work together to find the solutions to these problems.