These days, it seems that an increasing number of people are leaving rural areas to live in the city. Discuss some of the effects of rural depopulation (migration from the country to the city ) and suggest some ways on which this trend could be reversed

In our time and age, there is a common belief that more and more individuals are relocating to cities from rural regions. This essay is to indicate the impacts of this trend and provide some suggestions for possible solutions to this situation.

To commence with, migration from the country to the city lead to many other consequences. A large number of city dwellers result in higher energy and water demands as well as more pollution, such as air, water, or even noise, which can decrease the local’s living quality. Moreover, traffic congestion in large cities is a result of overpopulation, particularly during peak hours. For instance, Beijing, the second-most populous city in China, has issued a red alert for air pollution. In addition, there will also be a lack of young and dynamic workforce in the coutryside, implying a decline in agricultural employment.

Through the effects of rural depopulation, we should minimize the causes of migration and offer alternatives in rural areas. The government can lower the rising rate of migrants by approving certain measures to improve people’s quality of life. Authorities can encourage the dwellers to remain in their hometowns by providing better facilities in rural areas. Additionally, they may facilitate rural mobility to enable people to live in the country while studying and working in the city.