These days, many people are shopping online instead of going to local stores. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Many people are now tending to shop on online apps or websites instead of going to traditional shops. From my perspective, this trend has both positive and negative sides.

On the one hand, there are some benefits of shopping online. To begin with, it is a more inexpensive and quicker way to purchase anything you want without going directly to the shop. Most online shops do not have to pay for the rent, so their products’ costs are lower than local shops. For example, there are some online shopping apps such as Amazon or Shoppee, whose products are cheap compared to general level, and you can buy everything you want with a click in just a few seconds. Secondly, shopping online allows people to access a variety of choices and also lets us compare manufacturers of different brands, so people can consider the product they want to buy thoroughly. For instance, buyers can easily compare the shoes of Adidas or Nike when they are buying online, while it is difficult to do so at local stores.

On the other hand, shopping online also has its demerits. The preliminary drawback is that the products may be different from what you might expect. These days, there are many shops that steal the clothes images of renowned brands so these images can mislead the buyers, and these shops produce poor quality clothing just to gain profit for their own business. Furthermore, buyers cannot try on the clothes before deciding to buy them. If they just buy it without having a chance to see it in reality, they cannot know whether it fits their body or not. Finally, people can be deceived when buying online. For example, there are many property scams today, which prey on the carelessness and naivety of buyers, and VTV3 has mentioned this issue for a long time to raise people’s awareness.

To recapitulate, shopping online has some merits such as its lower price, quickness, wide range of choices as well as its convenience. However, its detrimental sides are also considerable : poor quality, limitation on trying and deception.