These days, more and more people move away from the area where they were born and brought up when they become adults. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In today’s global society, there is a significant increase in the number of people who move away from their hometown in search of better opportunities. In this essay, i will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon and why I think it is advantageous overall.

Many people move away from their city or town after high school or university in search of a better job or an opportunity that is not available to them in their place of origin. This has a few advantages, such as an increased salary which will allow them to send financial support back to their loved ones while also building financial security for themselves. In addition to the monetary aspect, migrating away from a familiar place will enable the person to socially develop on their own terms, and create personal connections on their own merit instead of being thrust into a predetermined mould.

However, there are disadvantages to living away from your parents, siblings and other family members that you grew up with, namely the health and social aspects. If you have migrated far away, such as abroad to a different country, it is extremely difficult to return home for important occasions or family gatherings, which can often cause a feeling of isolation and melancholy. Moreover, the health of your parents will decline as the years progress, and if the situation changes suddenly, it is impossible to return home in time before things worsen, which will cause immense mental anguish to the individual.

Thus, I believe if the person is fortunate and able enough to either return home at regular intervals or brings their family with them to their new place of settlement, then the significant advantages definitely outweigh the disadvantages of moving away from one’s hometown.