These days, more and more people move away from the area where they were born and brought up when they become adults. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The concept of “home away from home” and nuclear families are increasing in the current times. This can be attributed to globalization. Most youngsters choose to move away from home. There are both pros and cons to this. If this is good or bad is depends on an individual’s priorities and upbringing.

Most people move out, for better education and job opportunities. Staying away from home can help develop one’s personality and make decisions without family influences. This allows an individual to explore and understand themselves better. For instance, my younger brother moved to a different state for higher studies. He went in as an introverted and timid adolescent. Four years from then, he metamorphosised into a confident man ready to tackle any obstacle that comes his way. This personal growth and knowledge landed him a job in a multinational company like Amazon. Thus, removing training wheels and moving away from home can be beneficial for career and personal development.

However, moving away can bring up nostalgia and remind you of simpler times when parents took care of everything. Staying away from aging parents can bring up guilt, particularly when they need your support during sickness. I have lived as a nuclear family in a different country from my grandparents. When they passed, I first hand witnessed the guilt that enveloped my dad because he could not be there for his parents’ last moments. Such instances make me wonder if it really is advantageous to go away from home. Additionally, moving to a new place brings with it a new set of challenges including mental health. Finding your way around and making new friends all while battling loneliness.

After going thru both perspectives, moving away is a personal choice and I think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Because, it not only opens up more opportunities, but also helps you find yourself and lead a much better life. Which, in turn can make it easier to provide for your family. If I am happy and can lead a good life, then I can always take my parents with me, overcoming the negative and also maybe fulfil my parents dream to explore the world. Prioritizing is the key.