These days, more and more schools focus on science and social science subjects and choose not to teach children to sing, paint, sculpt, write creatively or dance. Should school-children study the arts?

There is an opinion that nowadays children are taught more science and social science subjects than singing, painting, sculpting, writing creatively or dancing. From my perspective, children should study arts due to its advantages.

Initially, students who take lessons in arts tend to be more creative and patient. To specify, children need to tap into their imagination in order to conjure up images or portray something, consequently, their enhanced creativity benefits them in the modern competitive workplace where the ability to think creativity will help them to thrive in the face of automation. For instance, taking time to make a painting or drawing fosters a sense of patience and critical thinking since they have to think about needed steps to finish their works,say, choosing colors or selecting materials, thus allowing children to persist and see their goals to end instead of succumbing to hardships along the way to success.

In addition, enrolling in art lessons confers further emotional benefits. To elaborate, children can learn how to express their feelings through different means which benefits them emotionally, since not everyone is capable of or willing to talk to someone about their pain or suffering. Engaging in arts, whether singing, painting or writing, enable children to freely convey their emotions and enhance their overall well-being. As a result, those taking lessons in arts out of their own volition tend to take great pleasure in doing it as a meaningful means of relaxation after stressful school hours.

In conclusion, I am firmly convinced that children should engage in arts since those are crucial for creativity development, emotional expression.