These days, more and more schools focus on science and social science subjects and choose not to teach children to sing, paint, sculpt, write creatively or dance. Should school-children study the arts?

It is true that science and technology have permeated almost every aspect of our life and the demand for workers in these two sectors is undoubtedly increasing. Schools, one of whose primary roles is to provide a sufficient supply of manpower for industries, either are pressured into or are deliberately focusing on science subjects to cater for such an increase. I believe that this shift is largely justifiable, but schoolchildren should also be given the opportunity to dabble in the arts because it not only benefits them socially and emotionally, but also helps them think creatively and become more patient.

Firstly, children who take lessons in painting, sculpting or writing tend to be more creative and patient. This is because they need to tap into their imagination to create or portray something, and it often takes much time to make a painting or a sculpture or write a piece of poem or prose. While their enhanced creativity greatly benefits them in the modern workplace where the ability to think creatively will help them thrive in the face of the encroachment of automation, patience allows them to persist and see their goals to the end instead of succumbing to hardship along the way to success.

Furthermore, children who study the arts learn to express their feelings through different means, and this benefits them emotionally. The reason for this is that not everyone is capable of or willing to talk to someone about their pain or suffering, and singing and writing can help children freely illustrate their emotions. Not only this, those taking lessons in the arts out of their own volition tend to take great pleasure in doing it, and therefore the arts can be a means of relaxation after stressful school hours. Finally, they can make friends with people who share their interests and passions, which surely benefits them socially.

In conclusion, teaching children about the arts can help them to foster important virtues such as patience, and creativity and provide them with different ways to express themselves, relax and widen their social circle.