These days, more and more schools focus on science and social science subjects and choose not to teach children to sing, paint, sculpt, write creatively or dance. Should school-children study the arts?

Science and social science subjects are focused on by more and more schools, meanwhile, activities such as singing, painting, sculpting, creative writing, and dancing are not too popular, so they are not taught much. As a result, students have limited access to these fields. In my opinion, schools should include creative subjects in their curriculum to benefit children.

To begin with, the competencies children acquire from creative subjects sometimes support and extend their knowledge in science fields. Painting, music, and creative writing are essential for fostering creativity. Without creativity, students may struggle to think outside the box so this is crucial not only for the arts but also for problem-solving in science and technology. Moreover, these talents are not innate so they need to train from a young age.

Another thing to discuss is the arts provide valuable emotional and psychological benefits that scientific subjects cannot offer. Learning art, music or dance can help children express themselves, speak their minds, and build confidence so that they can cope with pressure and challenges in their personal lives. In addition, children have to think logically and calculate carefully they can be under pressure sometimes, therefore, learning these creative subjects can be a way to reduce stress and unwind after a long time studying science subjects.

Science and social science subjects are important but I firmly believe that schools should not ignore the arts. Because they play a crucial role in fostering creativity and supporting students’ emotional development so many schools should add them in teaching programme to ensure that students receive a balanced education, preparing them not only academically but also personally.