These days more people put their personal information, such as names, addresses and telephone numbers, online for everyday activities such as socialising on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years, a lot of people are sharing their private information for many purposes. This essay agrees it is a negative development because it will put people in danger and will also affect important values such as privacy.

Sharing personal information can put someone in danger. If criminals know details about people from the internet it can help them get to the individuals in real life and then hurt them or even kill them. That will also encourage violent assault. For example, In Sudan, the kidnapping of younger people is usually done by their social media networks offenders find it online because those teenagers put it out for everyone to get access to it, so they help in kidnapping and also increase the crime rate in the country as well.

Furthermore, sharing such private information will reduce the person’s privacy by everyone getting access to that type of information which will affect how people see privacy in general, which is a very important thing. because it gives humans a sense of safety if that was missed we would suffer as a community. For example, children on social media witnessing this kind of sharing information as regular behaviour will impact their lives because they will not learn about the importance of one’s privacy.

In conclusion, while social media have great benefits, there is a danger that can not be denied. because it may help dangerous criminals get access to people, also it affects how the community see privacy as well. Therefore, I think sharing personal data is a negative trend.