These days more people put their personal information, such as names, addresses and telephone numbers, online for everyday activities such as socialising on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that online platforms are gaining personal details about people in the name of socialization on public network and banking purposes. Technology today has progressed rapidly however this rapid development also possess some drawbacks. In this essay, I will give insights about the positive and negative aspecs if technology.

To begin with the positive sides of development of online platforms, it have made life of people more simplified. Nowadays, digital marketing has gained rapid growth and popularity among people due to such online platforms. Because of the details obtained by those online platforms, the selection of goods accorging to our preference have become more easier. To support it, we can see the growing use of online transaction methods instead of physical currencies. For instance, 80% of the youths in Kathmandu are found to be using online means of payment which they state is more convenient. Also the data we feed during our login help us to syncronize with the things which we opt for elimination.

However, along with some good aspects, the social media platforms hold darker sides as well. With the growing socialization, the information provided by the people have came at the risk of vulnerability to the crime. To elaborate the increasing crime rates, bullying and trolling have increased in these sites. Along with it, hackers tend to gail all the personal details in order to manipulate people, theft and infringement of privacy. For example, crime rates taking place due to the misuse of online platforms have increased by 10-20% over few years in Nepal.

To sum up Although online platforms have intensified the connection among people who are far away, made everyday life more easier; the threats and safety issues associated with it need to be addressed and taken seriously. Also we need to be more cautious and knowledgable about the online safety measures.