These days more people put their personal information, such as names, addresses and telephone numbers, online for everyday activities such as socialising on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, more and more people are using social media and other online platforms. In addition to this, generally joining these platforms requires sharing personal information. Also, social media and other online platform users are even sharing more essential information on their own profiles. In my opinion, sharing personal info may cause a lot of problems in the future.

In fact, these developments make our lives easier. For example, individuals seeking employment opportunities or wanting to reconnect with old friends can utilize these platforms. Also, there are a lot of benefits for the field of communication. More people share their daily lives on online platforms and, thus, interactions are increasing among individuals. These developments are increasing day by day and they provide a variety of options for sharing such as adding a location, photo, or video, and other personal info.

In contrast to this, these developments may have negative effects on the people’s life. For instance, people who share their private info on social media may have their bank accounts stolen. In the last decade, stealing has risen sharply and I am firmly of the opinion that the reason for this is certainly unconsciously using social media. On the other hand, these developments might negatively affect our society. In recent years the concept of “stalking” has been more popular among people, and individuals have started to find out information about ex-partners and their friends with this method. Consequently, we may find ourselves in an environment or situation we do not want.

In conclusion, thanks to social networks we can achieve many benefits. Nevertheless, these improvements have a negative side. To sum up, we should use social media properly, because in my opinion sharing personal information on these platforms cause vital problems in the future.