These days more people put their personal information, such as names, addresses and telephone numbers, online for everyday activities such as socialising on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The digital revolution has been offering many immerse amenities to humanity across various aspects of life, as growing numbers of individuals from many parts of the world have submitted their personal data to online platforms for everyday convenience, which can be seen from communicating on social networking sites and using banking services. From my perspective, I strongly believe that the drawbacks of this phenomenal development could totally outweigh the benefits, which are detailed below.

To commence with, there is some compelling evidence supporting my statement mentioned. First and foremost, it raises significant concerns about the security of personal information on a worldwide scale. Undoubtedly, hackers could exploit their victims’ lack of awareness and knowledge of cybersecurity or vulnerabilities of the database system to steal unauthorized access and use personal information for illicit gain. Another noteworthy point is that it leads to potential violations of human rights, as an individual’s personal information and private life could be observed and monitored by third parties. Because they may misuse personal data by trading their customers’ data through their negligence, it could result in the erosion of trust since citizens may feel less secure and less willing to engage with authorities if they know their personal data can be accessed by outside entities.

Nevertheless, I do not deny the immense benefits of this development, as it is one of the inevitable consequences of the modernization progress. First, providing personal information to applications and websites which are essential for modern needs, such as communication on social networking sites or online payments, can help users save time. Thanks to the digital advancement, it enables modern people to maintain relationships as well as do transactions beyond the geological limitations. Additionally, it also inadvertently improves the environment, as it mitigates the costs of transportation and printing invoices, which appear less possible for the conventional ways of communication and banking systems.

To sum up, I contend that this development could be far more disadvantageous due to some reasons outlined. Also, it does not mean boycotting the amenities it could bring to modern life; however, people should be discerning and assertive when deciding to join any online platform or register any banking service.