These days people in some countries are living in a “throw-away” society which means people use things in a short time then throw them away. What are the causes and problems?

The debate over the topic of ‘throw away society’ remains the bone of contention. In this recent society, people tend to either throw out the old items after a short period or use a single-use item. From my perspective, this phenomenon is contributed by multiple factors and has many adverse impacts on the individuals and the society.

To begin with, one of the primary culprits of this phenomenon is the exaggerated advertising, resulting in the fallacy of usage in many merchandise. Specifically, lack of understanding in personal need individuals could be led by these false information. Additionally, the basic behavior of humans also acts as a catalyst for this action. Increasing relentless trends bombard consumers with information, raising their level of FOMO-fear of missing out as well as overwhelm, passively forcing them to buy the products.

Individuals living in a throw away society could suffer a great deal in terms of polluted environment and financial burden. Firstly, the mass production of either non-biodegradable or biodegradable, like single-use plastic, contaminates the flora and fauna severely through toxic chemicals and deadly elements. Another compelling effect is in the financial burden of individuals, especially those coming from low-income backgrounds. When they continuously buy these short-term items, they will not have a lot of savings for other purposes in later lives.

To sum up, a throw-away society comes up with several culprits and negative effects. It is recommended that the governmental authorities should apply and develop sustainable materials and raise awareness about the environment.