These days people spend more and more time at work and less time at home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

People are increasingly spending more time at workplaces than with their families. This trend is mainly due to the reason that people have become more career oriented in their daily lives and in my opinion, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages because it ensures financial freedom to their families.

More and more people are focusing toward their professional growth and stability through their pro-active approach. There has been a major shift in trend and people are prioritizing to work more, even beyond their office timings to achieve a valuable designation in their respective organizations. Their commitment to work, strong dedication and resilience enables them to be a valuable asset to their company and ensures them that their performance is being noticed by the higher-ups. For example, Multinational corporations support the culture of overtime and strongly consider this while giving promotion and incentive to their employees.

One of the major benefits of this approach is that it provides financial stability and freedom to their families. Working tirelessly while skipping some family gatherings offer greater professional benefits which ensure a better living to their dependents. Such individuals usually sacrifice their interest and peace for their beloved ones and prefer professional success over anything else. For example, many billionaires who are enlisted in the Forbes magazine claimed that they barely attended any family event due to prioritizing their work. Therefore, to provide a sustainable living to their families, many corporate employees have to work beyond their official timings.

In conclusion, although spending time with families offer greater comfort, people are more inclined to their professional careers. This essay clearly advocates that the benefits of this trend outweigh the drawbacks because such people usually prefer financial independence over the social gatherings.