To be labelled a 'Work of Art', a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning amwork and it now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled "masterpieces whilst true works of art pass unnoticed Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer

Various form of arts must have a distinct character in order to be tagged as “Work of Art” in the past centuries, however, there is a deterioration of that standard nowadays for even the most common ones are rewarded compared to the extraordinary masterpieces. I totally disagree with these statement because I believe that art is a self expression and every creation made is worthy to be recognized and be rewarded no matter what the output.

Exemplary work of art made centuries ago were really recognized that is why painters like Da Vinci, Musicians like Mozart and sculptor like Donatello were widely known. During those times, limited people and probably only the gifted individuals were able to practice and enhance their full potential in art that is why, every piece of craft created are substancial and unique. Only a few people can recognize and appreciate a certain form of talent and skill. Furthermore, art started to evolve during that period, those great artists set the standards for todays generation so it was expected that their works were extraordinary.

However, this present times, many individuals took a higher interest in art. It was even introduced to younger children as early as 2 years of age. Various forms of art can now be easily learned and access by almost everyone that it became common to majority of individuals. Many ordinary people have developed ideas about it, thus, they were able to give deeper appreciation about it. It is a form of self expression that is widely used, wherein, time, heart and soul was invested into it and that will be enough in order to be called “masterpieces”.

To conclude with, though superior pieces of art were astonishing centuries ago, there are still significant number of diverse and extraordinary pieces made up to these days.. only that more and more people got to avail it readily, therefore, it became so quite common and ordinary.