To be labelled a 'Work of Art', a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning amwork and it now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled "masterpieces whilst true works of art pass unnoticed Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer

Art is a significant part of people’s lives. It is a way for artists to express their emotions. Nowadays, value of true art has declined and some people have started to say that ordinary types of art are being acknowledged as masterpieces whilst true ones are not being appreciated and recognized. I completely agree with this opinion for two reasons.

Firstly, the reason for this is that people’s opinions about art can be varied or in other words, individuals have different taste in art. When one considers simple art as great and unique, another person might not think so about it. This can lead to confusion and cause art that is not special to be called a ,, Work of art”. A survey conducted at the modern art exhibition showed that most visitors labeled simple artworks as outstanding and exceptional, while original and astonishing artworks were adored by few people.

Secondly, it could be due to the impact of social media. These days, adolescents like being popular and they try to create art that is suitable for the current trend, the one that gets a lot of likes and shares. This focus on this platform may lead remarkable artworks being undervalued or just ignored as they do not follow current trends.

As a conclusion, i can state that it is crucial to differentiate genuine art from ordinary one. For that, people should have knowledge about what real art is and they should try to appreciate the value of authentic art, not the trendy one.