To be labelled a 'Work of Art', a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled 'masterpieces ' whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

In the contemporary society, there is a notable tendency for an ordinary and overly simplified pieces of art to be widely regarded as a masterpiece, whereas actually meaningful and outstanding artworks are highly underestimated. This essay will discuss the reason for this proclivity of modern people to undervalue significant artistic achievements and express my own opinion.

In recent years, the worldview of people and the art fashion has changed substantially. In the past, people used to value the real skillfully and professionally created artworks. The artist used to put in a lot of effort and energy to make their creation perfect. To provide an example, when I was in Turkey, i saw ancient sculptures, the figures of people, and the patterns on the stones that was made by people of the past eras and it looked absolutely flawless. Notwithstanding this, people nowadays prefer more abstract expressionism, moreover, there is numerous cases when artists managed to sell the picture of a randomly placed stains and sell it for an excessively large sums of money. What else is noteworthy is not only the shift in the preferences for the type of art, but also that the ability to present yourself and your work became the pivotal aspect to achieve success. Without the capability of gaining popularity and attract the attention of the public your works will go unnoticed.

In conclusion, there is an ongoing argument that this growing trend for the abstract and oversimplified arts may reflect the broader cultural decline, and I am inclined to agree with this perspective. While I wouldn’t say that abstract expressionism and modern trends doesn’t deserve to be valued and appreciated to some extent, i would still like to underscore the importance of the other pieces of art that should not be forgiven as well.