To be labelled a 'Work of Art', a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled 'masterpieces ' whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, many people think that art quality is becoming more lower than before. Some people say that very simple works can be called “masterpieces”, but real high-quality art is not noticed by people. I agree with this idea in some part, but also I do not fully agree, because art today is different from past time.

First of all, it is true that many modern artworks look very simple and they do not show high level skill. In the past, artists spend many years to learn painting and drawing and they create very detailed works. But now, some artists just make lines or basic shapes and still win prizes in competitions. This situation make people confused and think that art is becoming worse in standard. Also, really talented artists maybe do not get attention because their work is not popular or not in modern style.However, art always change with time and society, so it is normal that modern art is different. Today, art is not only about technique, but also about idea and feeling. Some artworks try to show social problems or express strong emotions to people. Even if they look simple, they can still have deep meaning inside. Because of this, we cannot say all modern art is low-quality or inferior.

In my opinion, it is very difficult to decide what is real masterpiece, because people have different taste and different opinion. One person may like simple art, but another person may not understand it well.

In conclusion, I think art quality maybe looks lower today, but actually it is just different and not always inferior.