To what extent do you agree or disagree that individuals who commit non-violent crimes should be given alternative forms of punishment, such as community service?

It is argumentative topic that commiting a crime which is considered as a non-dangerous one have to be punished by giving less strict punishment like community service. this essay completely agrees with that statement not only because penalty should be equal to degree of the offense but also because serving a sentence in a regular prison can cause psychological damage to one who is not a serious lawbreaker.

The law is designed to uphold justice. Accordingly, all sentences should be given reletively to type of the crime. As it comes to people who commit minor offenses, it is unfear to give them harsh sentences. Instead, they can do community sentences, as it is not only effective in preventing repeat offenses but also a good way to economise government budget. For instance, last year the government of Indonesia economized at least 30 percent of budget on labor costs by applying community sentences to non-serious offenders.

On the other hand, individuals who commit petty crimes are usually not serious criminals, and keeping them in regular prisons with real brutal lawbreakers can lead to a wide wariety of negative outcomes ranging from psychological disorders to even phisical injuries. Moreover, statistics of UK represents that almost 80 percent of prisoners who were interviewed have reported that they underwent a lot of acts of bullying.

In conclusion, although people have to be responsible to their actions, it does not means that every single offender have to go to prison, as in many cases alternative punishments like working in a factory or serve community works can be more effective and fair.