To what extent has the internet made life more convenient?

With the invention of the internet, our lives became more convenient, because of the possibilities it gave us. It has never been easier to research a topic or to talk to friends and family around the world. Despite that, we can notice a growing addiction to mobile phones among teenagers, which has a negative impact on the efficiency of school work, relationships, and others. Even though, that makes a strong argument I believe that the rise of the internet made our lives more practical. The main aim of the essay is to outline the reasoning for that statement.

Firstly, nowadays when people want to search for information or look up the meaning of a word, all they have to do is search in the internet and they get an answer right away. However, in the past, it was not that feasible. One had to find a book on a certain topic and look through it, until finding the details. Nevertheless, people were not even sure if they would find the answer to their question! The multitude of research articles and books available online made getting knowledge easier and more accessible to everyone around the world.

Secondly, families that live far away from each other or even overseas can have constant contact through messaging platforms and can even talk through video chats. With the rising trend of migration, it is common to see families scattered all around a country or even a continent. Some people who dreamt of studying abroad might have feared that they’d lose contact with their relatives or that they wouldn’t be up to date with family events. However, now thanks to technology that cannot be a reason for doubt.

Finally, thanks to the introduction of the internet people can save time by running their errands online. You can now sign up for anything without waiting in a queue without even being certain that it would give you a time for a doctor’s appointment or if something you wanted to buy was available in store.

These examples only touched on the amount of opportunities the internet gave us. Communication, education and time-saving are just a few of them and with the rapid evolution of the media, we might soon see the use of the internet in every area of our life.