Today, advanced technology and science have made great changes to people's life, but artists such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

It is true that artiest in current era continue to maintain a high status in our community despite that dedicated scientists have revolutionized human experience. I believe that this is because arts still bring irreplaceable value from various aspects to the entire society’s wellbeing.

There is no doubt that arts can both express and arouse emotions in a way that science and technology alone cannot, and it can also resonate with people from diverse backgrounds. For instance, Shakespeare’s plays are popular on a global scale, and spectators often experience similar feelings during the performances, despite speaking different languages and coming from various cultures. It is common that people feel connected with one another when they are listening to the same songs, watching the same movies or just admiring the same paintings, regardless of their races and genders, which demonstrates the universal appeal of arts. In short, artists can convey the messages that they wish to share with the public through their artwork, as it possesses the power to bring people together, which is borderless and influential.

Furthermore, arts also serve as a channel to educate the community about the city. In China, there are many works of art in public spaces, such as streets or squares in city centers. In Beijing, for example, numerous statues and paintings can be found in the vicinity of the Forbidden City, which have been presented throughout the development of the city. Apart from representing culture, heritage and history, these artworks also act as landmarks or talking points for visitors and tourists, adding to the location’s charm and appeal. While cutting-edge technology has contributed substantially to social progress, it is the arts that form the soul of a city, providing it with a unique heartbeat and character.

In summary, arts adds values to our lives in different aspects, which explains why artiest in contemporary society still being highly regarded while advanced science and technology has contributed significantly to our way of living.