Today, advanced technology and science have made great changes to people's life, but artists such as musicians, painters and writers are still highly valued. What can arts tell us about life that science and technology cannot?

Although advancements in science and technology have left massive improvements to people’s lives, artists still remain as highly formidable figures of society. This essay discusses the aspects of life that are impossible to be demonstrated through science and technology, yet can be vividly communicated through art. These are the subtle beauties of life and the complexities of our mental constructs and lived experiences.

Firstly, art grants humans the ability to observe and appreciate the abstract beauties of life. One of the unnoticeable beauty lies in nature, as art can recreate these often overlooked wonders through drawings and photographs. For instance, there are a vast collection of pictures illustrating the liveliness of the wildlife or the radiant grace of sunsets, which are unable to be portrayed through data, graphs, or scientific theories. The second aspect resides in the moments of life, such as family dinners, romantic moments with a significant person, or the simple joy of sitting in the park alone. As these factors are mostly subjective and highly abstract, they can only be viewed through novels, journals, songs, and paintings.

Secondly, art unravels the complexities of our experience, emotions, and thoughts. There are a wide range of art forms that are utilized as tools to express complex mental issues, such as depression, schizophrenia, and bipolar. A famous example is using art in art therapy to help clients better grasp their mental conditions as well as reconnecting to different suppressed memories and emotions. Furthermore, most complex and painful experiences are communicated through art, such as writing songs about a breakup or a loss of a loved one. Since science only delivers the objective viewpoints of these experiences, art is used as a way to express subjective perceptions, such as the bittersweet feeling of separation or the resentment of being abandoned.

In conclusion, while scientific findings and high-tech machinery increase life satisfaction in all areas of life, the contributions of art in shaping and explaining the world are non-negligible. Through the existence of art, we can comprehend the beautiful shades of life as well as understanding our own inner world, the construct of our emotions, thoughts, and experiences.