Today due to advanced medicine, people are living longer. Therefore, the number of elders is expected to exceed that of young people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this cutting-edge era, human race has been trying to be developed in each & every field. Owing to development in the medical sector, the life span of mankind has been rising day by day, which is increasing numbers of seniors around the world. The notion does not only have myriads of drawbacks, but it also carries a few benefits which will be discussed in the following paragraphs with the logical conclusion.

There are numbers of cons for a country whose major population is old age people. Firstly, it is well known that young people are backbone of any region’s growth as they are generally good at multi-skills and work faster with efficiency and accuracy. If any territory has less adults indirectly affect their growth. Secondly, generally, after a certain age people are dealing with a few medical problems such as diabetics, low energy, unbalanced blood pressure and cholesterol level etc. so, for those individuals taking care of themselves it could be problematic. Finally, as the number of retired people are more, the running governments also have to provide necessary amenities such as free or discounted public transit pass, pension which indirectly burden for the country.

Apart from the disadvantages, senior citizens carry vast real-life experience and the knowledge which no one can gain through any course or by reading books. This experience could be beneficial for next generation or youth in every aspect of their life.

in conclusion, because of medicine advancements, we are living longer than the past. It would be dangerous for any nation’s progress and budget however, beneficial for the young people.