Today family members do not eat meals together. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Nowadays the tradition of eating together with a family has become less popular than decades ago. This essay will first suggest the long working hours as a main key of the problem and it will then state that such change is negative for all family members.

To begin with, the modern world with the high level of competition forces people to work much harder to get a better job and climb the corporate ladder. Thereby, career becomes the first priority before family. Moreover, the trend of increasing mixed work hours in office and at home office disrupt the balance between work and personal life. To illustrate this, during Covid-19 when most companies transferred their employees to remote work, one of the big problems which was claimed by people was that the workday continued until midnight because people did not feel the boundary between work and home.

Regarding the second question, I think that refusing family traditions like gathering together may have a negative effect on the whole family, especially on the relationships between parents and children. Due to workload and studyload, family dinners become the major opportunity to build strong connections between family members, know each other’s interests and plans. In absence of this, parents lose knowledge of their offsprings, their connection starts to be thin and friends, social media and the Internet become the main influence on children’s behavior. Young people may choose the wrong path for their future, start to smoke, drink alcohol or even take drugs.

In conclusion, family meals are not common nowadays mostly because of changing priorities and imbalance between work and life. As a result, the lack of closeness in families may have a negative effect on children.