Today family members do not eat meals together. Is this a positive or negative trend?

Currently, families are more likely to ignore the tradition of having meals together, with each member either eating out or having their breakfast, lunch, or dinner separately. From my perspective, this is an undesirable development due to three key factors: the weakening of family bonds, the potential development of depression, and the loss of the ability to communicate.

One main drawback of this development is that skipping small and, as some people consider, unnecessary family traditions, such as sharing a meal together, will lead to an increased frequency of disputes between family members. It is proven that talking is considered the best way to solve a problem, so by having a meal together, we can enhance the bond between parents, siblings, and grandparents. On the other hand, skipping these gatherings can make a family member feel less comfortable with other relatives. As a result, arguments may become a habitual occurrence, which will affect the productivity of the breadwinner and the well-being of the other family members.

Another significant disadvantage is that, notwithstanding the fact that symptoms of fatigue and sadness may develop gradually, eating alone and not having anyone to talk to while consuming food has the potential to cause depression. As many public speakers and psychologists say, the key element in avoiding burnout and being overwhelmed by stress is to stay close to family. Although the person may not notice the development of depression in the early weeks of eating out or eating alone, over time, feelings of heaviness and unease will begin to emerge. This will eventually influence the financial and emotional well-being of the family.

A final argument is that ignoring family traditions does not only affect the internal family situation but also each person’s individual life. The root of every action that a human learns comes from family, such as walking or the ability to eat, which are taught to individuals in the early stages of life. Taking this into account, it becomes obvious that losing communication with family members will have a negative impact on one’s personal life as well. In 1998, a group of scientists proved that people who have dysfunctional relationships with their family members tend to be less talkative and have a lower chance of succeeding in their careers. In addition, people who spend little time with their relatives are more likely to be bad-tempered, which provides further evidence of the previous statement.

In conclusion, avoiding mealtimes with family members leads to severe and initially unnoticeable depression, as well as various changes in one’s personal life, such as becoming overly reserved or quick-tempered in insignificant situations. This practice also weakens intra-family relationships, making them less comfortable.