Today family members do not eat meals together. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In our current society, it is true that in a family environment dining together helps members to connect and build stronger bonds. However, this action is disappearing day by day. In my opinion, this is a great disadvantage as it increases the chance of children experiencing and developing harmful behaviour and divorce.

One might argue that when youngsters are let to consume their meals in their own rooms or away from family kitchen, they start to learn how to be independent and flexible to changes. In the future, moving out from home to college or universities will not cause much trouble as their adaptability skills will help them in the long run.

On the other hand, I still think eating meals individually may be disadvantageous. Family table is an atmosphere where every member receives attention and various issues are resolved. However, without this kind of opportunity, especially youngsters will be left unnoticed. As a result, they may experience depression and trauma which may make a root in the behaviour of children, causing further problems such as bad academic performance. In addition, without family meal times, bonds in the family may start to fall apart leading to divorce or living seperately.It is also mentionable that today, 20 % of divorces are made due to families not spending sufficient amount of time together.

In conclusion, dining seperately may encourage flexibility towards changes in young members of the family, shattering of family bonds and lack of attention for children, inadequate behavior make this development negative.