Today family members do not eat meals together. Is this a positive or negative trend?

In the past few years, families have been spending less time together. While some argue there are massive drawbacks of this trend, others claim that its merits overshadow its demerits.

Granted, one might maintain that insufficient family meal time is prone to the deterioration of family bonds. The primary reason is that mealtimes can be seen as an essential occasion for family gatherings and communication from which they can preserve memories and mend family relationships. However, it should be noted that by eating separately, families can reduce the likelihood of household conflicts. The reason for this is that numerous opinions on a lot of topics or personal matters can foster domestic quarrels, leading to tension among members. For instance, common subjects such as career choices, academic achievements, or personal lifestyles are able to result in conflicts between parents and children, causing emotional divide.

It is also noteworthy that other upsides need to be emphasized in the absence of family time. One of which is that since the pace of life is getting faster and faster, hectic schedules are depriving people of time spent for loved ones. If they manage to eat alone, people are likely to organize their schedules more effectively without concern of family mealtime. Besides, this tendency seems to cater to individual food interests. In a house with different members, it is common for each person to have different tastes and nutritional needs. For instance, one might have allergies that prevent them from eating the same foods as others, requiring special meal preparation to maintain their health. By eating alone, everyone can relish food that suits their taste and healthcare, leading to greater satisfaction and well-being.

All things considered, despite some negative facets of this trend, I am of the opinion that its benefits of avoiding conflicts, saving time and individual taste should be focused more