Today, many children spend a lot of time playing computer games and less time on sports. Why? Is it a positive or a negative development

Recent years have witnessed that many children are increasingly playing computer games at a higher frequency and distance themselves from physical activities. This essay attempts to outline the underlying reasons behind this phenomenon before concluding that this trend is largely disadvantageous.

The increasing amount of time spent on computer games can be attributed to two main factors. Chief among these is that these games are designed with captivating visuals, engaging plot and high interactivity. These functions allow players to immerse in a complex storyline and control characters at their own will. For example, Brother Hai’s Pho Shop allows players to play the role of “Anh Hai”- the owner of a ‘pho’ restaurant in a peaceful countryside but full of mysteries. When playing, you have to both plan to manage and serve customers, and learn about the mysteries of the locality, which can trigger the imagination and curiosity of children, and encourage them to spend the whole day playing to discover all the missions. With computer games, children do not need to go outside or exert themselves physically to have fun. They can sit in one place for hours, playing games without any demanding physical activity.

Although children can improve their critical thinking through playing computer games, I am convinced that they come at the expense of more pronounced problems. The primary concern is that it can have detrimental effects on children’s health. Spending long hours in front of a computer screen reduces physical activities, leading to obesity and eye-related diseases, potentially increasing the risk of chronic health problems such as diabetes and heart disease. Another drawback of playing video games is poor social skills. Engaging in sport activities encourage children to interact with others, developing their communication and teamwork skills. However, excessive video game usage can lead to social isolation and a lack of face-to-face interaction with peers. As a result, they are more likely to suffer from depression and social anxiety.

In conclusion, playing computer games for an excessive amount of time is largely driven by factors such as interesting content as well as low demand for physical strength. Notwithstanding certain benefits, this trend should be seen as a negative, with all the problems of overall well being and poor social skills.