Today, many people spend less and less time in their homes. What are the reasons for this? What are the effects of this trend on the individuals and society?

Home may not be the location where some people spend the majority of their leisure time but simply a place to rest these days. In my opinion, the trend of the reduction in time at home is mainly attnbuted to two reasons.

Firstly, the growing personal mobility prompted by the continuous progress in transport increases the physical distance between family members’ residences but meanwhile reduces their sense of belonging Specifically, the greater accessibility to airplanes, trains, and motor vehicles diminishes the limitations in geographical living locations and enables contemporary people to choose a more preferable place, ranging from cities to countries, to study or work Living far away from their parents and even spouse or children, some migrant workers may, however, live in a small family unit or even a solitary life and thus, merely see their new acconmodation, particularly a rented flat and house, as a temporary shelter to sleep instead ofa necessary venue to fulfill their domestic responsibility-providing companionship to family members via daily household activities, such as meals and conversations. Secondly, the arising outside temptations brought by new technologies lead to the sacrifice of a certain amount of time for home entertainment, even for those who are still staying with their core family. Compared to the past, when reading or watching TVwere predominant after-work amusement, there are more options, including watching movies in cinema listening music in concert hall, shopping in shopping malls, travelling domestically or abroad, and so forth, available in the evenings, weekends, and holidays. Given limited leisure time, when some of these alternatives are chosen, the original ones must be gone.

In spite of the greater flexibility provided to individuals, this phenomenon may result in the weakening concept of family among the public. Admittedly, individuals are able to manage their free time based on their own preference so much so that their pursuits in hobbies and the efficiency in daily routines can be maximised. Nevertheless, driven by a self-centered life attitude, people are likely to start underestimating the value of family and, in the worst-case scenario, holding a misconception that it is unwathy to invest time in family duties related to other family members. The gradual decline in family cohesion, for example, could be a consequence of less opportunities of two-way communication to find out other members’ emotional conditions caused by job achievements or life frustrations via various home activities. Less importance attached to marriage and raising offspring could be another by-product of the growing desire for avoiding traditional family responsibilities, such as caring and parenting, once the joy of freedom is tasted by the yomg generation.

All in all, this changing lifestyle is owing to more options in diverse life activities. Although a certain degree of improvement in personal life quality could be guaranteed, in a long term, it may give rise to adverse impacts on the integrity of family from both individual and social perspectives.