Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

Nowadays people are becoming more concerned about the problem of humans becoming overweight. Doctors keep warning about the consequences of extra weight, but the problem does not go away. In this essay I will provide the primary causes of people gaining weight and the main effects of this epidemic.

First of all, I believe the fast food marketing campaigns to be the main cause of the overweight population. Such restaurants invest huge amounts of money to make their products appear as the best option for a snack. The number of calories in a small hamburger eaten in McDonald’s can equal as much as 1000 calories, which can be easily replaced with a healthy and nutritious meal. For instance, a recently published interview with a fitness trainer provided the audience with biological facts, according to which fast food causes obesity more than any other types of edible goods.

Secondly, gaining extra weight can be caused by the inactive lifestyle. Not only the bad food which causes obesity, but the lack of sport also leads to unnecessary kilograms. Modern human spends on average 8 hours a day in office and nearly 8 hours on sleep. There is only 8 hours left in a day, which can be dedicated to physical activities. If people did more sports, life expectancy would surely increase, because many scientific papers state that 10-minute exercise a day can increase the life duration by 5 years.

Speaking about the main effects of an overweight epidemic, it can surely be said that one of the main consequences will be the reduction of the number of years lived. Life expectancy in countries in all over the world will gradually decrease if nothing is done. What is more, humans will suffer from various diseases more frequently, since extra weight makes immune system weaker.

All in all, the main causes of people becoming overweight are fast food and the lack of activity and if nothing is changed, additionally to obesity humans will obtain new diseases and reduced life expectancy.