Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

Nowadays people are becoming more concerned about the problem of overweight. Doctors keep warning about the consequences of extra weight, but the issue is still acute. In this essay I will provide the primary causes of gaining weight and the main effects of this widespread disease.

First of all, I believe the fast food marketing campaigns are the main cause of overweight population. Restaurants such as KFC and McDonald’s invest huge amounts of money to make their products the best option for a snack. For example, the nutritional value of a small hamburger eaten at McDonald’s can reach 1000 calories, which can be easily replaced with a healthy meal.

Secondly, gaining extra weight can be caused by an inactive lifestyle. Not only is junk food the cause of obesity, but also the lack of sport exercises lead to unnecessary kilograms. A modern human spends on average 8 hours a day in an office and nearly 8 hours on sleep. There is only 8 hours dedicated to physical activities left. If people did more sports, life expectancy would surely increase. For example, a lot of scientific papers state that a 10-minute exercise a day can increase the life duration to 5 years.

Speaking about the main effects of an overweight epidemic, it can surely be said that one of the main consequences will be a life span reduction. Life expectancy in countries in all over the world will gradually decrease if nothing is done. What is more, humans will suffer from various diseases more frequently, since extra weight makes the immune system weaker.

All in all, the main causes of people becoming overweight are fast food and the lack of activity and if nothing is changed, in addition to obesity, humans will obtain new diseases and shorter life expectancy.