Today more people are overweight than ever before. What are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

Obesity rate has increased in recent years. There are some reasons, such as sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy diets, and there are certain solutions addressing this problem, including encouraging people to be more active and imposing restrictions on fast food.

To begin with, sedentary lifestyle ought to be the primary reason for obesity. Since the role of technology in people’s life has increased drastically, they started to be more passive. For instance, nowadays individuals are buying everything with their phones, and due to that they do not leave their home for days. Another key reason could be the extensive usage of processed food. These foods contain a high level of unhealthy fat, and even small amounts of their consumption can affect people’s health. For example, Statistics show that a large proportion of USA population are suffering from obesity, and also the same proportion consume fast food regularly.

In order to minimize obesity governments can encourage individuals. Those who suffer from this health condition are not active, and they need physical activity. Governments can give them free physical equipments to solve this issue. For example the citizens Netherlands rarely use their cars, instead of vehicles they mostly commute by bicycles. In addition, governments can impose strict rules on fast food production because fast food companys do not prepare their products with fresh vegetables and healthy fat. To illustrate, managements can limit the fat level in foods and can check the quality of products.

To sum up, obesity is serious issues for modern society and it is increasing due to sedentary lifestyle and unhealthy diet, and there are some solutions to tackle this problem such as restrictions on unhealthy foods