Today, more people are waiting until their thirties to get married and have children. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is now a growing trend towards late marriage. For this reason, an increasing number of people are deciding to get married and have children after the age of thirty. I believe that this development is positive overall, given the couples’ experience in life and their financial situations.

Firstly, as people become older, they become more experienced in life as well, giving them an edge in parenting. People in their thirties are generally mature and able to raise children, as opposed to younger parents in their twenties who lack skill in taking care of children. This means that relatively old parents can bring up better individuals who can act as important members of our society. For example, while younger parents are very impulsive in making decisions such as divorce, mature people are more rational and make better important decisions, directly affecting marriage and children in a positive way. Therefore, relatively late marriages not only positively affect children, but the married couple themselves as well.

Secondly, unlike in young marriages, ones happening later on involve more financially stable lifestyles. People usually settle down and have a certain profession in their middle ages, which implies they are ready for different expenditures that may arise, such as a baby’s preschooling education, clothes and food. For example, a well-reputable research shows that people are at their wealthiest between the ages of 35 and 45, showing how much ready these people are for marriage and children. In comparison, early marriage would strain the couple’s opportuities as they would have different expenses that require money which they usually do not own. Thus, due to the financial situations of couples, getting married later would be ideal for both the children and the parents.

In conclusion, getting married after thirty would be better for two different reasons. Parents would be more experienced to raise children, ensuring that children receive a proper upbringing, and they would be more ready to cover financial expenses that come with marriage and children. In my view, these two ideas make this trend a positive one.